Phortify Internship (Traineeship) Grants - Pilot Call
Digital Europe · Cascade funding
Summary
Not an R&D call a Polish company can use, by Scindu's rule.
Phortify offers internship grants within its European photonics education and training programme.
- Who can apply
- Companies cannot apply: individual.
- Amount
- €91,800Indicative budget
- Deadline
- 04 Feb 2027 00:59 CETin 102 days
- Status
- Openopened 4 Feb 2026
Machine-classified from the call text; check eligibility at the source.
Description
About Phortify
Phortify - Photonics Education Network for Next-Gen Innovation and Digital Skills Excellence for Industry and Society - is dedicated to the Enhancement and Harmonisation of Photonics education and training across Europe. Phortify offers a two-year European Master’s in Photonics Engineering, combining advanced coursework, hands-on laboratory training, and cutting-edge digital skills development, structured mobility windows and industry placements. Students who complete the Phortify track receive an official Phortify Certificate in addition to their Master’s degree. Students can enrol in a Phortify-related master programme at any of the 7 participating universities. In addition, Phortify provides stand-alone modules with harmonised standards for quality assurance and certification, offering high flexibility and mobility for both students and industry professionals. Finally, Phortify organises mentoring programmes for women postdocs and early PIs as well as one-day immersive experience events for prospective students, providing a unique opportunity to explore photonics and its applications.
About the Phortify Funding Framework
Phortify’s Funding Framework aims to widen participation in photonics by supporting students and staff who are traditionally underrepresented in STEM. This includes women and gender minorities, students from low-income or socio-economically disadvantaged backgrounds, first-generation university students, and learners with disabilities or specific support needs. The programme also encourages participation from regions with limited access to advanced higher education, as well as those belonging to cultural or minority groups that may be underrepresented in higher education. By addressing these dimensions of diversity, Phortify helps ensure a more inclusive and equitable community of future photonics professionals. Participants selected for Phortify funding receive financial support for studies and mobility pathways within the participating master programmes, or for mentoring programmes and STEM experience workshops organised by one of the Phortify partners.
Disclaimer:
This call (as well as the financial support provided through it) is NOT an EU action. This call is launched solely by Phortify. The financial support to the selected successful applicants will be provided directly by Phortify in its own name and under its own responsibility. Phortify’s responsibility includes the preparation and drafting of this call as well as the selection of successful applicants who will receive the said financial support. The publication of this call in the EU Funding & Tenders Portal is made solely for information purposes with the aim of increasing the visibility of this call to the general public, including to potential applicants (i.e. students). The said publication shall not be construed as direct or indirect approval of the content and conditions of this call by the relevant EU authorities or as any form of waiver from the above-described responsibility of Phortify.
Who can apply, in detail
- Applicant types
- Individual
- Purpose
- Training and people
- R&D relevance
- 1 of 3
- Poland eligible
- Yes
- Country limit
- —
- Region
- Any
- Consortium
- Single applicant
- Readiness level (TRL)
- —
- Topics
- Photonics engineering
- Industry placements
- Digital skills
Machine-classified from the call text; check eligibility at the source. 23 Oct 2026
Conditions
Typed facts extracted from the source documents by Scindu's grant-data review. Each value keeps its own conditions. Unknown means unstated, not zero or unlimited.
- Applicant restriction
- Applicant must be a national of an EU Member State, an associated country, or a country with an ongoing EU cooperation agreement under the Digital Europe Programme; the internship must be Phortify-labelled or Phortify-related, support academic/professional development, occur during study, relate to project objectives, and be implemented under a Phortify partner institution.
- Applicant type
- Students in either Phortify master degree-seeking programmes or eligible non-degree Phortify student activities; applicants must be students at the time of the internship.
- Application restriction
- Applications must be submitted through the Phortify website. The public MyPhortify page directs users to log in/register to apply and says eligibility and deadlines are available after login; current public page does not expose local application forms or applicant-specific availability.
- Application restrictionPhortify Pilot Call mandatory application documents and admissibility
- Applicants must provide the latest official BSc and MSc transcripts if applicable, a Phortify-specific motivation letter describing motivation for funding and alignment with project objectives, and a CV. Missing required documents make applications ineligible.
- Eligible geographyNationality eligibility for this Pilot Call; applies in addition to stated country-category description
- The operative eligibility PDF lists the following eligible countries: Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Korea (South Korea), Kosovo, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Moldova (Republic of), Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United States (US), and Libya.
- Eligible geography
- Nationality eligibility covers EU Member States, associated countries, and listed countries with EU cooperation arrangements under the Digital Europe Programme; the authoritative country list appears in the official eligibility document and may be updated in line with European Commission guidance.
- Eligible project scope
- The SEDIA destinationDetails lists the published partner catalogue for this internship pilot: TU/e lists MSc Applied Physics and MSc Electrical Engineering tracks Semicon Devices and Connected World Technologies; WUT lists MSc Mechatronics and MSc Photonics; FSU lists MSc Photonics and MSc Quantum Science & Technology, alongside AFS and ICFO as participating partners. These are the source-listed partner/programme paths, not an exhaustive list of all university courses and not a new universal Master’s-enrolment condition. The separate PDF Category B non-degree Phortify-student-activity branch remains represented and is not excluded by this catalogue fact.
Catalogue attribution is limited to the own-call SEDIA record as captured. Programme/track labels are names, not grant counts, beneficiary headcounts, or employment roles. Preserve the existing SEDIA/PDF wording conflict and non-degree branch.
- Other condition
- Financial support is provided as monthly allowances or partner-specific lump sums. Monthly allowances are tied to actual internship duration subject to partner-specific conditions; lump sums are not tied to fixed duration and contribute to internship costs including travel, accommodation and subsistence. The internship is learning-based and does not constitute employment. The call also states that financial support may only be used for the activities listed above and no other activities are eligible; this is a support-use limitation and does not establish exclusivity of the listed partner programme/track catalogue as internship eligibility.
- Other conditionEvaluation governance for Phortify Internship Grants at partner institutions
- Applications are evaluated by local selection committees established by the Phortify partner institutions. These committees apply the published framework consistently and impartially; committee members must declare conflicts of interest and ensure appropriate mitigation. This is an institutional selection-governance duty, not an applicant requirement.
- Other condition
- Monthly allowances apply to actual internship duration subject to partner-specific conditions. The published maximum is six months for ICFO only; no duration for the AFS monthly rates is stated. TU/e, WUT and FSU amounts are explicitly duration-independent lump sums.
- Other conditionInstitutional post-evaluation decision, communication and aggregate reporting for Phortify Internship Grants
- Partner institutions document evaluation outcomes and funding decisions, communicate awarded scholarships to the Phortify Coordinator, and report aggregate data in accordance with project reporting obligations. These are partner/project reporting duties, not applicant deliverables.
- Other condition
- Phortify internships are short-term, practice-oriented, learning-based placements foreseen in the Phortify Grant Agreement and implemented under a Phortify partner. They must align with Phortify themes, develop the student academically/professionally and occur during study. They do not constitute employment.
- Other conditionPhortify Pilot Call student status and internship implementation
- Applicants must be students at internship time. The internship must be directly related to Phortify themes/objectives, contribute to academic/professional development, occur during the student’s study period, and be implemented under responsibility of a Phortify partner institution.
Amounts and costs
- Indicative budget
- €91,800
Topic budget as stated in the portal's budget table. Lump-sum and per-project limits are in the call conditions.
- Funding per beneficiary, maximumFSU-hosted Phortify internship
- €1,500
Duration-independent lump sum; not monthly, salary, or guaranteed per applicant.
- Funding per beneficiary, maximumTU/e-hosted Phortify internship
- €2,000
Duration-independent lump sum; not monthly, salary, or guaranteed per applicant.
- Call allocation
- €91,800
SEDIA portal budget metadata for this call; total is not disaggregated by partner in the reviewed public rules and does not indicate current unspent balance.
- Unit contributionAFS-hosted Phortify internships for Bachelor students
- €800
Monthly allowance for actual internship duration, subject to applicable AFS/local terms; learning grant, not salary.
- Unit contributionAFS-hosted Phortify internships for Master students
- €1,200
Monthly allowance for actual internship duration, subject to applicable AFS/local terms; learning grant, not salary.
- Unit contributionICFO-hosted Phortify internships
- €600
Monthly allowance; maximum supported duration of 6 months under the published partner rule; actual placement dates/eligibility still apply.
Rates and allowances
An allowance, cap or unit contribution is not a guaranteed salary.
- Fixed · Other · person€800/ month
Partner-specific monthly grant, paid for actual internship duration under local partner conditions. No AFS duration or monthly cap is stated in the reviewed sources.
- Fixed · Other · person€1,200/ month
Partner-specific monthly grant, paid for actual internship duration under local partner conditions. No AFS duration or monthly cap is stated in the reviewed sources.
- Fixed · Other · person€1,500/ project
FSU lump-sum grant; the call text does not state an internship duration for this rate.
- Fixed · Other · person€600/ month
Partner-specific monthly grant, paid for actual internship duration; maximum six months.
- Fixed · Other · person€2,000/ project
TU/e lump-sum grant; the call text does not state an internship duration for this rate.
- Fixed · Other · person€2,000/ project
WUT lump-sum grant; the call text does not state an internship duration for this rate.
Personnel and services
Short-term, practice-oriented Phortify-labelled student internship during study, aligned with Phortify project objectives and under a partner institution. The student remains a student; support is a partner-specific monthly allowance or duration-independent lump sum. Monthly allowance duration is the actual placement duration subject to partner rules; only ICFO states maximum six months.
Student · Basis not stated
No hard duration is published for AFS; ICFO monthly support is capped at 6 months. TU/e, WUT and FSU grants are lump sums not linked to duration. Confirm local partner-specific form/rules through MyPhortify (login required).
Source documents
Call facts
- Opens
- 4 Feb 2026
- Deadline model
- Single-stage
- Programme
- Digital Europe · 2021 - 2027
- Call
- Phortify Internship (Traineeship) Grants - Pilot Call
- Types of action
- —
- Source
- ec.europa.eu
- Checked
- 24 Oct 2026
- Portal updated
- 19 May 2026
- Review status
- Partial review
- Reviewed
- 24 Oct 2026
This is a summary of the source page, not the official text. Eligibility, conditions and the submission system are at the source.