scindu funding
All calls

3.9 Wysokosprawna kogeneracja z biogazu wytwarzanego z biomasy, w tym z odpadów komunalnych

NFOŚiGW · Gospodarka o obiegu zamkniętym, w tym gospodarowanie odpadami, ochrona wód i gospodarka wodna · National call

23/I/OZ/3.9/2026/nabór_I_biogaz_dotacja 24/I/OZ/3.9/2026/nabór_I_biogaz_pożyczka

Summary

Not an R&D call a Polish company can use, by Scindu's rule.

Funds entrepreneurs building or modernizing biomass fermentation installations supplying biogas to high-efficiency cogeneration, subject to specified exclusions.

Who can apply
Companies can lead: SME, large company, startup.
Amount
Budget not stated
Deadline
30 Nov 2026in 37 days
Status
Openopened 31 Aug 2026
Open the official pageRegister to keep this call

Machine-classified from the call text; check eligibility at the source.

Description

The description is on the provider's page.

Who can apply, in detail
Applicant types
SME, Large company, Startup
Purpose
Energy, environment, infrastructure
R&D relevance
0 of 3
Poland eligible
Yes
Country limit
Poland
Region
Any
Consortium
Unclear
Readiness level (TRL)
—
Topics
  • Biogas production
  • Biomass fermentation
  • High-efficiency cogeneration
  • Municipal waste

Machine-classified from the call text; check eligibility at the source. 23 Oct 2026

Conditions14

Typed facts extracted from the source documents by Scindu's grant-data review. Each value keeps its own conditions. Unknown means unstated, not zero or unlimited.

Applicant type
Applicants are entrepreneurs within the meaning of Poland’s Entrepreneurs Law, excluding the Energy for Villages programme beneficiaries listed in footnote 8: energy cooperatives or their members, forming energy cooperatives meeting that programme’s definition, and qualifying farmers. The exclusions are cross-programme demarcation and this route is not an unrestricted household or cooperative route.
Application restriction
Access criteria require timely submission on the current form and in the required mode; a complete, properly signed application with all required fields and attachments; an eligible entrepreneur; no applicant-caused termination/cancellation in the preceding three years except by mutual agreement; no specified public or civil arrears; a programme-aligned, not-yet-completed project; programme-consistent implementation and payment periods and financing form/intensity; and, where applicable, local zoning, WPGO alignment for selectively collected municipal biowaste, and an environmental decision. The separately cited criteria 15–20 add CHP operation, minimum capacity, sale of surplus electricity, grid-connection evidence and DNSH. Criterion 20 additionally requires renewable-energy sustainability and greenhouse-gas savings criteria for installations with total nominal thermal capacity of at least 2 MW; the complete condition and its evidence are also stated in the separate environmental-and-energy-operation-conditions fact. The advertised deadline and the exact applicant/project categories are also represented in separate facts.
Application restriction
This is a competitive, time-limited intake. Applications use the current competition forms through NFOŚiGW’s GWD electronic application system with an electronic signature; a paper fallback with signed declarations is specified if the applicant cannot use the prescribed signature. Only one application per same investment and same funding form may be submitted in the competition.
Application restriction
Costs may be considered eligible from the date the funding application is filed through 30 September 2030. The call is a competition, so the general NFOŚiGW guidance says the version applicable to competitive calls is the one in effect on the competition announcement date; the retrieved current P.1.1-13 copy is not independently proven here to be the historical version in effect on 21 August 2026.
Application restriction
The exact NFOŚiGW record identifies the current 2026 first competition under separate grant and loan identifiers. The official call page and 22 October 2026 source record give an application window of 31 August–30 November 2026. The record marks the call open at capture; live submission availability in GWD was not independently checked.
Application restriction
The application must commit that the entire biogas stream will be used for high-efficiency cogeneration, post-project combined installed electrical/thermal output will be at least 1 MW, surplus electricity beyond the fermentation/CHP installation’s own needs will be sold to the electricity grid, and a grid connection application or connection conditions exist for electricity and/or heat. If total nominal thermal capacity is at least 2 MW, the source must meet specified renewable-energy sustainability and greenhouse-gas savings criteria; a DNSH declaration is also required.
Application restriction
The first disbursement cannot occur until a final building permit is obtained or a building notification has been made with no objection. Before the funding contract, the beneficiary must present a final environmental decision; a decision with immediate enforceability also satisfies the programme condition.
Application restriction
A loan may be partly forgiven under NFOŚiGW’s general financing rules, but market-term loans are not forgivable, and loans are not forgivable where the same investment is financed under both a loan and grant agreement.
Application restriction
Investment durability is five years from investment completion. Grant and loan disbursements may be advances or reimbursements; where one investment has both forms, grant disbursement may follow payment of all loan tranches and the final 5% of combined support is paid only as reimbursement under the grant.
Eligible project scope
Eligible projects build new, expand or modernize existing biomass fermentation installations to use resulting biogas for high-efficiency cogeneration. For an existing installation, expansion/modernization must concern the electricity-and-heat generation technology, increase cogeneration source capacity, and cannot consist only of biomass preparation/processing or digestate management.
Eligible project scope
The post-project installed high-efficiency cogeneration source must be at least 1 MW, measured as the combined installed electrical and thermal capacity. All biogas produced by the fermentation installation must be directed to high-efficiency cogeneration.
Ineligible project scope
Biogas or agricultural-biogas installations specified in sections 7.5.2(b) and 7.5.3(d) of the Energy for Villages priority programme are excluded from this financing route. The precise cross-referenced project scope must be checked against that programme when classifying an individual project.
Other condition
The NFOŚiGW page and rules provide distinct grant and loan application forms and the exact call identifier contains both the grant and loan route IDs; the normalized current catalogue row lists action_types only as Dotacja. This catalogue instrument metadata discrepancy is preserved; both route instruments are supported by the operative primary call sources.
Other condition
For a loan on market terms that does not constitute public aid, the programme instead uses the European Commission reference-rate method, with conditional rating adjustments and full, unconditional, payable-on-first-demand repayment guarantees for specified newly formed or special-purpose applicants.
Amounts and costs14
Call allocation
PLN 400,000,000

Call-wide allocated pool, not an individual project award ceiling. The programme-wide allocation is a separate fact.

Call allocation
PLN 1,000,000,000

Programme-wide ceiling: up to PLN 600m non-repayable plus up to PLN 400m repayable. The current competition separately has PLN 400m total available; no per-project award cap is stated in these cited passages.

Eligible cost
The programme incorporates the NFOŚiGW eligible-cost guidelines and expressly includes: purchase and delivery of new machinery/equipment; composting or digestate hygienization/preparation equipment only for digestate from the funded biomass-fermentation installation; integrated and properly dimensioned electricity/heat storage; and biogas storage. These classes remain subject to the route’s caps and exclusions.
Eligible cost limit
20 percent of eligible investment costs

The percentage is a cap on the named eligible-cost class, not a grant intensity or project award rate.

Eligible cost limit
5 percent of eligible investment costs

The percentage is a cap on the named eligible-cost class, not a grant intensity or project award rate.

Eligible cost limit
3 percent of eligible investment costs

The percentage is a cap on the named eligible-cost class, not a grant intensity or project award rate.

Funding intensity, maximum
40 percent of eligible project costs

Grant form only; maximum intensity. The separate competition pool is not an individual grant cap.

Funding intensity, maximum
100 percent of eligible project costs

Loan form only; maximum intensity remains subject to the project-finance own-capital condition where applicable.

Ineligible cost
The programme expressly excludes VAT, purchase of real estate, patents/licences/unpatented technical, technological, organisational or management know-how, and biogas upgrading infrastructure for biomethane production or CO2 capture.
Ineligible cost
Programme management expenses are limited to necessary investment-realisation management (e.g., coordination) or management required by law (e.g., statutory supervision), capped at 3% of eligible investment costs; beneficiary personnel costs are expressly excluded from this management category. This exclusion is scoped to management expenses and does not itself decide whether non-management direct project employee work can qualify under the applicable general guidelines.
Grace period, maximum
12 months; measured last loan tranche to first principal repayment; maximum also 12 months from investment completion

The programme allows a capital-repayment grace period measured from the last tranche to the first principal repayment, capped at 12 months after investment completion.

Loan interest, minimum
PLN 2

Applies to the WIBOR 3M-linked loan option. A separate market-rate option applies where the loan is not public aid and its rate is set using the EU reference-rate method; do not read 1.5% as a universal fixed rate.

Loan term, maximum
180 months from planned first tranche to planned final principal repayment

Maximum term is 15 years (180 months), measured from the planned first tranche to planned final principal payment.

Own contribution, minimum
15 percent of eligible investment costs

Applies to project-finance investments; funds must be paid-in cash share capital. Bank loans, bonds, owner loans and loans from other entities do not count as own funds.

Personnel and services1
  • Other role

    Basis not stated

    No fundable personnel category is asserted because the historical cost-guideline version in force on the competition announcement date has not been verified. The current P.1.1-13 text is captured for reference. If that version applies, the employee job description/duties must identify project tasks and costs are proportional to project work; potential eligible components include gross remuneration and employer costs under applicable law. This does not assert a specific hire, salary, headcount or rate. Beneficiary personnel costs are excluded from the distinct investment-management category, which is capped at 3% of eligible investment costs.

Source documents5
Call facts
Opens
31 Aug 2026
Provider
NFOŚiGW · Gospodarka o obiegu zamkniętym, w tym gospodarowanie odpadami, ochrona wód i gospodarka wodna
Source
gov.pl
Checked
24 Oct 2026
Review status
Partial review
Independent QA
No published hold
Reviewed
23 Oct 2026

This is a summary of the source page, not the official text. Eligibility, conditions and the submission system are at the source.