3.9 Wysokosprawna kogeneracja z biogazu wytwarzanego z biomasy, w tym z odpadów komunalnych
NFOŚiGW · Gospodarka o obiegu zamkniętym, w tym gospodarowanie odpadami, ochrona wód i gospodarka wodna · National call
Summary
Not an R&D call a Polish company can use, by Scindu's rule.
Funds entrepreneurs building or modernizing biomass fermentation installations supplying biogas to high-efficiency cogeneration, subject to specified exclusions.
- Who can apply
- Companies can lead: SME, large company, startup.
- Amount
- Budget not stated
- Deadline
- 30 Nov 2026in 37 days
- Status
- Openopened 31 Aug 2026
Machine-classified from the call text; check eligibility at the source.
Description
The description is on the provider's page.
Who can apply, in detail
- Applicant types
- SME, Large company, Startup
- Purpose
- Energy, environment, infrastructure
- R&D relevance
- 0 of 3
- Poland eligible
- Yes
- Country limit
- Poland
- Region
- Any
- Consortium
- Unclear
- Readiness level (TRL)
- —
- Topics
- Biogas production
- Biomass fermentation
- High-efficiency cogeneration
- Municipal waste
Machine-classified from the call text; check eligibility at the source. 23 Oct 2026
Conditions
Typed facts extracted from the source documents by Scindu's grant-data review. Each value keeps its own conditions. Unknown means unstated, not zero or unlimited.
- Applicant type
- Applicants are entrepreneurs within the meaning of Poland’s Entrepreneurs Law, excluding the Energy for Villages programme beneficiaries listed in footnote 8: energy cooperatives or their members, forming energy cooperatives meeting that programme’s definition, and qualifying farmers. The exclusions are cross-programme demarcation and this route is not an unrestricted household or cooperative route.
- Application restriction
- Selected access criteria, among other programme criteria, require a timely, complete, properly signed application on the required form; an eligible entrepreneur; no NFOŚiGW termination or cancellation for applicant-side reasons in the prior three years except mutual termination; no outstanding specified public or civil obligations; a consistent project not already completed before filing; valid plans where applicable; and the required environmental decision. If selectively collected municipal biowaste is included, the installation must fit the relevant regional waste-management plan. This is not an exhaustive transcription of all access criteria. The announced deadline and forms, entrepreneur applicant class, eligible project types, and funding form/intensity are represented in separate facts; other criteria are not expanded in this fact.
- Application restriction
- This is a competitive, time-limited intake. Applications use the current competition forms through NFOŚiGW’s GWD electronic application system with an electronic signature; a paper fallback with signed declarations is specified if the applicant cannot use the prescribed signature. Only one application per same investment and same funding form may be submitted in the competition.
- Application restriction
- Costs may be considered eligible from the date the funding application is filed through 30 September 2030. The call is a competition, so the general NFOŚiGW guidance says the version applicable to competitive calls is the one in effect on the competition announcement date; the retrieved current P.1.1-13 copy is not independently proven here to be the historical version in effect on 21 August 2026.
- Application restriction
- The exact NFOŚiGW record identifies the current 2026 first competition under separate grant and loan identifiers. The official call page and 22 October 2026 source record give an application window of 31 August–30 November 2026. The record marks the call open at capture; live submission availability in GWD was not independently checked.
- Application restriction
- The application must commit that the entire biogas stream will be used for high-efficiency cogeneration, post-project combined installed electrical/thermal output will be at least 1 MW, surplus electricity beyond the fermentation/CHP installation’s own needs will be sold to the electricity grid, and a grid connection application or connection conditions exist for electricity and/or heat. If total nominal thermal capacity is at least 2 MW, the source must meet specified renewable-energy sustainability and greenhouse-gas savings criteria; a DNSH declaration is also required.
- Application restriction
- The first disbursement cannot occur until a final building permit is obtained or a building notification has been made with no objection. Before the funding contract, the beneficiary must present a final environmental decision; a decision with immediate enforceability also satisfies the programme condition.
- Application restriction
- A loan may be partly forgiven under NFOŚiGW’s general financing rules, but market-term loans are not forgivable, and loans are not forgivable where the same investment is financed under both a loan and grant agreement.
- Application restriction
- Investment durability is five years from investment completion. Grant and loan disbursements may be advances or reimbursements; where one investment has both forms, grant disbursement may follow payment of all loan tranches and the final 5% of combined support is paid only as reimbursement under the grant.
- Eligible project scope
- Eligible projects build new, expand or modernize existing biomass fermentation installations to use resulting biogas for high-efficiency cogeneration. For an existing installation, expansion/modernization must concern the electricity-and-heat generation technology, increase cogeneration source capacity, and cannot consist only of biomass preparation/processing or digestate management.
- Eligible project scope
- The post-project installed high-efficiency cogeneration source must be at least 1 MW, measured as the combined installed electrical and thermal capacity. All biogas produced by the fermentation installation must be directed to high-efficiency cogeneration.
- Ineligible project scope
- Biogas or agricultural-biogas installations specified in sections 7.5.2(b) and 7.5.3(d) of the Energy for Villages priority programme are excluded from this financing route. The precise cross-referenced project scope must be checked against that programme when classifying an individual project.
- Other condition
- The NFOŚiGW page and rules provide distinct grant and loan application forms and the exact call identifier contains both the grant and loan route IDs; the normalized current catalogue row lists action_types only as Dotacja. This catalogue instrument metadata discrepancy is preserved; both route instruments are supported by the operative primary call sources.
- Other condition
- For a loan on market terms that does not constitute public aid, the programme instead uses the European Commission reference-rate method, with conditional rating adjustments and full, unconditional, payable-on-first-demand repayment guarantees for specified newly formed or special-purpose applicants.
Amounts and costs
- Call allocation
- PLN 400,000,000
Call-wide allocated pool, not an individual project award ceiling. The programme-wide allocation is a separate fact.
- Call allocation
- PLN 1,000,000,000
Programme-wide ceiling: up to PLN 600m non-repayable plus up to PLN 400m repayable. The current competition separately has PLN 400m total available; no per-project award cap is stated in these cited passages.
- Eligible cost
- The programme incorporates the NFOŚiGW eligible-cost guidelines and expressly includes: purchase and delivery of new machinery/equipment; composting or digestate hygienization/preparation equipment only for digestate from the funded biomass-fermentation installation; integrated and properly dimensioned electricity/heat storage; and biogas storage. These classes remain subject to the route’s caps and exclusions.
- Eligible cost limit
- 20 percent of eligible investment costs
The percentage is a cap on the named eligible-cost class, not a grant intensity or project award rate.
- Eligible cost limit
- 5 percent of eligible investment costs
The percentage is a cap on the named eligible-cost class, not a grant intensity or project award rate.
- Eligible cost limit
- 3 percent of eligible investment costs
The percentage is a cap on the named eligible-cost class, not a grant intensity or project award rate.
- Funding intensity, maximum
- 40 percent of eligible project costs
Grant form only; maximum intensity. The separate competition pool is not an individual grant cap.
- Funding intensity, maximum
- 100 percent of eligible project costs
Loan form only; maximum intensity remains subject to the project-finance own-capital condition where applicable.
- Ineligible cost
- The programme expressly excludes VAT, purchase of real estate, patents/licences/unpatented technical, technological, organisational or management know-how, and biogas upgrading infrastructure for biomethane production or CO2 capture.
- Ineligible cost
- Programme management expenses are limited to necessary investment-realisation management (e.g., coordination) or management required by law (e.g., statutory supervision), capped at 3% of eligible investment costs; beneficiary personnel costs are expressly excluded from this management category. This exclusion is scoped to management expenses and does not itself decide whether non-management direct project employee work can qualify under the applicable general guidelines.
- Grace period, maximum
- 12 months; measured last loan tranche to first principal repayment; maximum also 12 months from investment completion
The programme allows a capital-repayment grace period measured from the last tranche to the first principal repayment, capped at 12 months after investment completion.
- Loan interest, minimum
- PLN 2
Applies to the WIBOR 3M-linked loan option. A separate market-rate option applies where the loan is not public aid and its rate is set using the EU reference-rate method; do not read 1.5% as a universal fixed rate.
- Loan term, maximum
- 180 months from planned first tranche to planned final principal repayment
Maximum term is 15 years (180 months), measured from the planned first tranche to planned final principal payment.
- Own contribution, minimum
- 15 percent of eligible investment costs
Applies to project-finance investments; funds must be paid-in cash share capital. Bank loans, bonds, owner loans and loans from other entities do not count as own funds.
Personnel and services
Other role
Basis not stated
No fundable personnel category is asserted because the historical cost-guideline version in force on the competition announcement date has not been verified. The current P.1.1-13 text is captured for reference. If that version applies, the employee job description/duties must identify project tasks and costs are proportional to project work; potential eligible components include gross remuneration and employer costs under applicable law. This does not assert a specific hire, salary, headcount or rate. Beneficiary personnel costs are excluded from the distinct investment-management category, which is capped at 3% of eligible investment costs.
Source documents
- Biogas programme 3.9 competition regulations, August 2026
- Annex P.1.1-13: NFOŚiGW Eligible Cost Guidelines
- NFOŚiGW cost-guidelines official publication page, retained 23 October 2026
- NFOŚiGW call page: High-efficiency cogeneration from biogas, 2026 competition
- Priority programme 3.9: High-efficiency cogeneration from biogas produced from biomass, including municipal waste
Call facts
- Opens
- 31 Aug 2026
- Provider
- NFOŚiGW · Gospodarka o obiegu zamkniętym, w tym gospodarowanie odpadami, ochrona wód i gospodarka wodna
- Source
- gov.pl
- Checked
- 23 Oct 2026
- Review status
- Partial review
- Reviewed
- 23 Oct 2026
This is a summary of the source page, not the official text. Eligibility, conditions and the submission system are at the source.